#30: GSoC with KDE Now – 8

Hey ! I’m making KDE Now, an application for the Plasma Desktop. It would help the user see important stuff from his email, on a plasmoid. It’s similar to what Google Now does on Android. To know more, click here.

 

Time sure passes fast when you are enjoying something. And so, another week has passed and I’m back with another status update. Things look very very good from here on. At least, not until we decide to change something drastic that I hadn’t proposed earlier XD.

Last week was rough. I was struggling with viral fever and throat infection for the better part of the week. Plus I had some other things to attend to. Nonetheless, I managed to devote the needed time on my project. I managed to create the UI of the Flight and Restaurant cards. They look good and work as expected (the dynamically loading up of things and all)

Here are the obligatory screenshots

Other than that, I’m afraid I don’t have much to talk about. I still have not made the Database fix I had talked about in my earlier post. But I’ll do it next.If you look at it, then in a way I have managed to successfully deliver what all I had planned initially in my proposal :). This was a real confidence boost.

For the next few weeks, I plan to work on some tidbits I had left earlier (like the Database thingy I mentioned). I also might refine the UI. Plus, I also need to figure out a convenient way to make the plasmoid available for the end user in terms of his email credentials. I might look into KWallet but me and my mentor have to still talk about it.

Ending it with a request: If you are a graphics designer and have experience with making vector graphic images and want to help me out, feel free to contact me. Just comment your email id below (it’s private and I moderate comments :)) and I’ll contact you. I could really use your help.

Till next time

Cheers!

 

4 thoughts on “#30: GSoC with KDE Now – 8

    1. I have just kept it on default style as of now. Will have to take this up with someone. Thanks for pointing it out though 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

